Alcohol for Coeliacs

Coeliacs have it so easy. Since doing some research into it, (as it seems I might have it) it appears coeliacs get a lot more information and support than plain ol' food intolerant people.
It sounds slightly strange but I'm sorta hoping I have coeliac.
As my colleague pointed out the other day, it's also easier to explain to people. Saying "I have coeliac disease" or "I can't eat gluten" must make things a lot more simple than trying to get someone to understand wheat intolerance.
(It always makes me think of the other meaning of intolerance. It sounds like you're saying - "I just don't like wheat's attitude! It's rude and I can't abide it!")

Anyway, to my point.

I was talking about this with my husband, while I was drinking a JD and coke and he 'helpfully' pointed out that "I probably shouldn't be drinking that".

So, I've been doing a bit of research and I've even emailed Jack Daniels. (The people on the website not the man himself obvs)

It's a bit of a can of worms.

I read that Jack Daniels and other such whiskeys contain 'mostly corn' which isn't at all helpful.

The coeliac UK website however have this to say;

"All spirit drinks, including those which have a gluten-containing cereal used as an ingredient, go through a process called distillation. Distillation removes any trace of gluten, so the end product is gluten-free."

Hm. I'm more than happy to agree with them but always get a funny tummy when I drink whiskey.

For now, I'm going to stick to rum. Mmmm rum.


Popular posts from this blog

The UK Gluten Free Sunday Roast Guide!

From Awkward to Awkwarder - The Post Veganuary Post

Modern Feminism and Baking